What’s Happening on the Scene

My debut novel is now in the hands of a capable editor, getting all polished up and shiny for you. The cover art is done, I’ve been promoting to exhaustion to tickle your ears, and now I breathe. I think and reflect and ponder. There are a lot of things to ponder on. What if the book flops? What if all of you hate it? Were my sex scenes steamy enough, and were there enough steamy sex scenes? What will you think of my heroine, villain and hearthrob? As writers, these are all the things we think about. But mostly I’ve thought about the amazingness of the New Adult/contemporary romance/erotica literary landscape.

Here’s the thing: Self-pubbed, indie-pubbed and small-pubbed authors have been getting a bad rap for a long time. Ditto for writers of NA/erotica/etc. That shift is changing, and for good reason.

But I don’t have to tell you this. You already know what’s happening on the scene. The point is, I didn’t know, until I decided to write and publish my first novel, what was really, truly happening.

So what is really, truly happening, you ask?

  • A group of dedicated readers supporting each other after their literary tastes (young heroines, hot heroes, love, drama and romance) were overlooked by the traditional publishing houses.
  • A group of dedicated authors who support each other in ways you just don’t see in any other genre. People who don’t even know me immediately offered their support when I announced An Easy Dare. No strings attached. Just a shared love of books and a shared understanding that there’s room for ALL KINDS OF BOOKS across the literary landscape, including mine and yours and all the ones tucked away on your e-reader, ready to be devoured.
Leave a Reply

